Teaching Subject Matter

book love

“In a good book the best is between the lines.” – Swedish Proverb

Reading has always been an activity that has given me the utmost pleasure. Between the covers, I would lose myself among the leaves to embark on journeys that would take me to the ends of the universe. For me, reading was empowering because it allowed me to live different lives, develop perspectives, and ultimately enhance my ability to empathize with the world around me.

By developing bonds that run deeper than only needing to pass a test, we can engage students in critical thinking, perspective-taking, and a number of other skills that are essential in a democratic society. As an educator, I want to aid students who have never been interested in reading learn to love the written word. I want to hear the discussions, the analyzing, the critical thinking, but most of all, I want to hear young people talking passionately about something they care about.

If students are expected to connect and engage with texts, they will need the opportunities to experience reading in this fashion. Using Ralph W. Tyler’s backward design model, teachers can develop quality units with overarching themes and lesson plans guided by essential questions. Through the use of these broad, yet guiding principles, teachers can better plan for more engaging activities that will help connect students to different works of literature.

Leave a Reply

